Mission Statement

Oregon Impact provides educational experiences to end impaired and distracted driving.

Laws and Best Practice Information

Oregon law assists drivers in the decision of how to properly restrain and protect children in motor vehicles. When children are properly restrained it significantly decreases the severity of injuries and number of fatalities that occur in a crash. Oregon’s law reflects national best practice. Best Practice recommendations are listed following the Oregon law. 

Oregon Child Occupant Protection Law 

Flyer

 
Child Restraints
  • Child passengers must be restrained in an approved child safety seat until they weigh 40 pounds. 
  • Infants must ride rear facing until they reach both one year of age AND 20 pounds.
Booster Seats
  • Children over 40 pounds OR who have reached the upper weight limit of their car seat's harness system, must use a booster seat until they are 4'9" tall OR age 8.
  • The booster seat requirement does not apply when the rear seat of the vehicle is equipped only with lap belts, provided the child is secured by the lap belt.
Safety Belts
  • A child taller than 4’9” OR age 8 or older must be properly secured with the vehicle’s safety belt. 
  • The child is properly secured if the lap belt is positioned low across the thighs and the shoulder belt is positioned over the collarbone and away from the neck.
The failure to properly use safety belts or child restraints is a Class D traffic violation with a $110.00 fine—ORS 811.210 and ORS 815.055, effective January 1, 2012. 

“Best Practice for Safer Travel"

 
  • Infants and toddlers under 2 years of age should ride in a rear facing car seat.
  • Toddlers should ride in a forward facing car seat only after they outgrow the rear facing limits on the car seat.
  • Older children should ride in a belt-positioning booster seat after they outgrow the harness on the car seat.
  • All children should ride in the back seat until they are 13 years old.
  • All passengers should be safely restrained in a lap and shoulder safety belt.
Parents often look forward to transitioning from one stage to the next, but these transitions should generally be delayed until they are necessary - when the child outgrows the limits for their current stage.
Additional Safety Tips
  • Rear Facing: Never place a rear facing child in front of an active frontal air bag.
  • Forward Facing: Use the top tether when the anchor is available or have an anchor installed.
  • Booster: Have your older child use a booster seat until the lap and shoulder belt fit properly - even if age 8 or older or taller than 4’9”in height.
  • Attend a check-up event or meet with a Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Technician to make sure children are riding safely. Visit our Calendar page for more information.
  • Refer to the child safety seat manufacturer’s manual and the car seat information in your vehicle owner’s manual for specific details.

ORS 811.205
Pick Up Truck Restrictions

Prohibits children under 18 years of age from riding in the open bed of a pick up truck.
This offense is a Class B traffic violation resulting in a $242.00 fine.

Leyes de Oregon para la Protecciónde los Niños como Pasajeros de Vehículos

Panfleto

 

Asientos de Seguridad para Niños

Asientos de Seguridad para Niños

  • Los pasajeros menores de edad deben sentarse en asientos de seguridad aprobados para niños hasta que pesen 40 libras o alcancen el peso límite máximo según el asiento que esté en uso en el vehículo.
  • Los bebés deben viajar mirando hacia atrás hasta que tengan un año de edad Y pesen 20 libras.

Asientos de Refuerzo:

  • Los niños cuyo peso sea mayor a 40 libras O que hayan alcanzado la altura máxima límite del sistema de seguridad de su asiento en el vehículo, deben utilizar un asiento de refuerzo hasta que tengan 4’9” de altura O cumplan 8 años.

Cinturones de Seguridad:

  • Un niño cuya altura es mayor a 4’9” O que haya cumplido los 8 años, debe viajar con el cinturón de seguridad del vehículo colocado de forma correcta.
  • El niño tendrá el cinturón de seguridad colocado de forma correcta si la correa que cruza sobre las piernas está ubicada debajo de las caderas y la correa del hombro se encuentra sobre  la clavícula y lejos del cuello.

El incumplimiento al uso adecuado del cinturón de seguridad o de los asientos de seguridad para niños corresponde a una violación de tráfico de Clase D y tiene una multa de $110.00.
(ORS 811.210 y ORS 815.055, en vigencia a partir del 1ro de enero de 2012.)

Recomendaciones para una “práctica más adecuada”

 
  • Los bebés y niños menores de 2 años de edad deben viajar en un asiento para vehículos que mire hacia atrás.
  • Los niños deben viajar en un asiento para vehículos mirando hacia adelante luego de sobrepasar la talla límite del asiento de vehículoque mira hacia atrás.

Recomendaciones para una “práctica más adecuada”

  • Los niños mayores deben viajar en un asiento de refuerzo luego de sobrepasar la talla límite del asiento de vehículo que mira hacia adelante.
  • Todo niño debe viajar en el asiento trasero del vehículo hasta que hayan cumplido los 13 años de edad.
  • Todos los pasajeros de cualquier edad deben viajar con un cinturón de seguridad con correas sobre las piernas y el hombro una vez que sean lo suficientemente grandes para que este cinturón de seguridad les quede bien.
  • A menudo, los padres desean hacer la transición entre una etapa y la siguiente, pero por lo general dicha transición debe retrasarse hasta que sea necesaria, cuando el niño haya sobrepasado la talla límite de su asiento actual.

Recomendaciones adicionales

  • Mirando hacia atrás: Nunca coloque a un niño en un asiento mirando hacia atrás en frente de una bolsa  de aire frontal activa.
  • Mirando hacia adelante: Utilice la atadura superior cuando el equipo se encuentre disponible.
  • Asiento de Refuerzo:Continúe colocando al niño en un asiento de refuerzo hasta tanto las correas de piernas y hombro del cinturón de seguridad le queden bien, incluso si el niño ya tiene 8 años o mide más de 4’9” de estatura.
  • Espere: un evento de chequeo o visite a un Técnico de Seguridad de Niños como Pasajeros (CPS en inglés) para asegurarse de que los niños viajan completamente seguros. Llame o visite calendar para conocer el calendario de eventos de chequeo.
  • Refiérase: al manual del fabricante del asiento de seguridad del niño y a la información sobre los asientos de su vehículo en el manual de propietario de su automóvil para detalles específicos.
 

California's Child Restraint Law

CaliforniaEffective January 1, 2012, children must be restrained in a child safety seat, booster seat or other restraint system in the back seat until the child is 8 years old OR at least 4'9" in height. 

Exceptions are: 

  • There is no rear seat. 
  • The rear seats are side-facing jump seats. 
  • The child passenger restraint system cannot be properly installed in the rear seat. 
  • All rear seats are already occupied by children under the age of 7 years. 
  • Medical reasons require that the child not ride in the rear seat. The court may require satisfactory proof of the child's medical condition. 

Additionally, the law states that a child may not ride in the front seat of a motor vehicle with an active airbag if the child is: under one year of age, weighs less than 20 pounds, or is riding rear-facing in a child passenger restraint system.

Link: California Highway Patrol

Idaho's Child Restraint Law

IdahoEffective July 1st, 2005, all children 6 years of age or younger be properly restrained in an appropriate child safety restraint. This is a primary law, the fine is $79.00. 

An appropriate child restraint is a child safety seat for children up to 40 lbs and a belt- positioning booster seat for children 6 years or younger. Lap-belt only seating positions should not be used with a booster seat. 

Link: Idaho Transportation Department

Nevada's Child Restraint Law

NevadaEffective June 2003, a child less than 6 years of age and who weighs 60 pounds or less must be secured in a child restraint system which:

  • Has been approved by the United States Department of Transportation in accordance with the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards set forth in 49 C.F.R. Part 571; 
  • Is appropriate for the size and weight of the child; and 
  • Is installed within and attached safely and securely to the motor vehicle: 
  • (1) In accordance with the instructions for installation and attachment provided by the manufacturer of the child restraint system; or
  • (2) In another manner that is approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 

Links: Nevada Office of Traffic Safety 

Washington's Child Restraint Law

WashingtonEffective June 1, 2007, Children less than 8 years old must be restrained in child restraint systems, unless the child is 4'9" in height or taller.

A child who is 8 years old or older, or 4'9" in height or taller, must be properly restrained either with the motor vehicle's safety belt or an appropriately fitting child restraint system. 

Children under 13 years old must be transported in rear seats where it is practical to do so.

Links: Washington State Legislature - Washington Traffic Safety Commission